ICE DANGERS

Right now in our area there are huge problems with ice forming on the eaves of buildings.  I just heard that some of our streets in Lancaster have had their sidewalks closed due to “killsickles”.  These ice monstrosities are formed when the roof warms up from the sun or from heat loss inside the living space.  Then water runs down and cools at the overhangs, or eaves.  The water freezes and forms an ice dam.  This backs up water that may be running down the roof, thus providing potential water leakage and damage to the interior of the building.

Ice at Gutter Edge

We recommend on new installations that an ice and water guard membrane be installed to prevent this backed up water from entering the structure.

It can be very dangerous to remove these hanging ice sickles.  They can be extremely heavy and falling from the height of a building can injure or even kill people below.   Some people use heat tapes to prevent the ice dams from forming.  IF it is possible to safely remove snow from the roof edge, be sure to remove it back about 3 feet.  This is very common in Northern areas of the country, but it is rarely an issue here in Lancaster and York.  There are special snow rakes that are used to clean snow from roofs in these Northern areas, but I have never seen one around here.

Overhanging snow danger

It is a good idea to prevent people from walking under these areas.  Use caution tape or warning flags to rope the area off.  Safety is our number one concern.  If in doubt, call an expert.  Please, whatever you do, be SAFE!

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “ICE DANGERS”

  1. Debi Cassani Says:

    This is certainly my initial stop by and I really like what I’m seeing. Your weblog is so much fun to look over, quite compelling as well as informative. I’ll undoubtedly recommend it to my friends. Nevertheless, I did have some problem with the commenting. It kept giving me an problem whenever I clicked on publish comment. I hope, that can be fixed. Many thanks

  2. Erik Minyard Says:

    Pretty insightful post. Never thought that it was this simple after all. I had spent a good deal of my time looking for someone to explain this subject clearly and you’re the only one that ever did that. Kudos to you! Keep it up

  3. Rosann Quijano Says:

    Have you ever considered adding more videos to your blog posts to keep the readers more entertained? I mean I just read through the entire article of yours and it was quite good but since I’m more of a visual learner,I found that to be more helpful well let me know how it turns out

    • bestroofer Says:

      That is a great point Rosann. I just purchased a flip video camera and will be using it soon. Thank you for your input!

Leave a Reply

