Proper Care of Old Metal

This is just another one of those things that make me go Huhhh?  They did what?

After my estimator, Chris, returned from looking at a beautiful church roof the other day, he had to show me these photos and what they had done to the metal on the building.  If they just would have kept up with the paint this would not have happened.

Rusty metal

Rusty tin ledge

At the same church, they had beautiful copper gutters and downspouts. I love the way that the old copper gets a patina to show the age.  I think that we were told that the building was built in the mid 1800’s.  Someone decided that they wanted to change the look of the gutters and they PAINTED them.

Painted copper

Painted Copper Gutter

Once the copper gutters are painted, they become very difficult to repair properly.  The paint also takes a very expensive piece of metal and changes it to look like something much more common.  In my opinion they were just painting the wrong things.

Let me know if you have any questions about the care of the metal on your roof or spouting.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Proper Care of Old Metal”

  1. Roofer Bolton Says:

    Carnt belive some one would paint somthing as beautyful as those copper gutters i agree with you they will be vey difficult to repair now with all that paint on them . Madness!

  2. Yuni Says:

    Great post! I agree more with your comments about the importance of copper.

  3. Charles Says:

    Wow, painting over copper gutters… unreal. What a tradgedy

Leave a comment